BLOG TOUR – Error of Judgement by Roy Lewis #guestpost #giveaway @joffebooks

Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for Error of Judgement by Roy Lewis. This is book 2 in the Inspector Crow series. I am sharing with you a Guest Post from Roy as he talks about his thoughts when writing this book. There is also the opportunity to enter a giveaway to win a Paperback.

Error of Judgment by Roy Lewis

Available from Amazon UK   US   AU

Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

A young woman is found dead in a college while students demonstrate. It turns out she was the principal’s secretary and there was more to her than meets the eye.

Who wanted her dead and why? And what does it have to do with the student revolt led by a charismatic firebrand from Iraq?

Inspector John Crow is called in and has little doubt who’s responsible but a series of surprises will make him reconsider everything.

This fast-paced mystery will have you enthralled from the start. Set in England in the late 1960s, this is the second book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

Giveaway

We are giving away paperbacks of ERROR OF JUDGEMENT to 2 lucky winners chosen at random on 25th October.  To enter the giveaway just enter your details here:  Giveaway entry form and you will be contacted on 25th October.

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

Tightly written, well paced and relentlessly accurate” Oxford Times

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE
Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

INSPECTOR CROW BOOKS
Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT


Guest Post – About Error of Judgement by Roy Lewis

“After my call to the Bar I taught law and wrote several legal textbooks, but when the Privy Council appointed me as Her Majesty’s Inspector (Further and Higher Education)—the youngest in the service, I turned to writing fiction. I believe I was seen as a “high flyer” in the Inspectorate but after the publication of my novel Error of Judgment I was hauled down to London and severely reprimanded by the Senior Chief Inspector for using a (fictional) HMI as a character in the book. The irony was that five years later a stranger gave me the copy I had sent to the SCI (together with its covering letter). It seems on his retirement the SCI had sold the book to a bookseller in the Lake District. Perhaps to augment his pension?”

“The polytechnics were clamouring to be redesignated as universities when I wrote Error of Judgment. In the book, the Rector of Burton Polytechnic (modelled on Sheffield Polytechnic) is seriously embarrassed by the murder of his secretary on the premises and DI John Crow finds himself involved in an unfamiliar environment—the world of higher education—as he seeks the murderer. And finds himself in personal danger, sought out by the killer as he is stalked among the deserted lecture theatres of the high rise building…

 


Author Bio

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.