New Author to Joffe Books #NewRelease #TeamJoffeBooks #crimefiction @joffebooks

We are very pleased to welcome ROY LEWIS to Joffe Books Publishing. Roy has been writing Crime Fiction for many years and we are thrilled that Joffe Books is now republishing the brilliant Inspector Crow series. A LOVER TOO MANY will be released on Friday 14th September so watch this space.

Inspector Crow by Roy Lewis

“Life in the fifties! No mobile phones, no laptops, no extensive social media. Life was certainly simpler then, though perhaps not for DI John Crow as he faces puzzling–and sometimes dangerous–criminal cases. Unlike many fictional detectives he has a settled home life, is not handsome and is neither alcoholic nor obsessive. But he is a humane man, principled and dogged and though faced with much professional hostility is persistent in seeking out the truth–while also recognising the human costs of exposing the truth….”

A lover too many cover

A LOVER TOO MANY (Inspector Crow #1) by Roy Lewis

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing.

 

“Builds up to a good climax and keeps you reading.” The Observer

 

Peter Marlin’s wife is found strangled and he becomes the prime suspect. She’d only just returned from an unexplained absence of several months. And during that time, Peter had found a new lover. Everything points to the husband but there’s no real proof.

 

Inspector John Crow is called in to help the local police. But his new colleagues aren’t keen on an outsider. And Crow must solve the case before anyone else dies.

 

This fast-paced mystery will have you gripped from start to finish. Set in England in the late 1960s, this is the first book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

 

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

 

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

 

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

 

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

 

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

 

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

 

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

 

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

 

Tightly written, well paced and relentlessly accurate” Oxford Times

 

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE

Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.


About my writing by Roy Lewis 

“After I was called to the Bar at the inner Temple I started writing legal textbooks but when I was appointed  as One of Her Majesty’s Inspector of Schools I was told that activity had to end, so–happily–I turned to crime fiction (being an obsessive writer). My first novel was A Lover  Too Many, Collins Publishers said they wanted an author not a book, and I was launched! Life was easier those days! That first book was not particularly descriptive of a certain area but as things went on I began to use my own experiences–of life in the Rhondda Valley, the West Midlands and later, Tyneside.
A Lover Too Many proved successful being published in UK and USA, France (in translation) Portugal and over the years has run into several editions, published by different houses. It introduced DI John Crow who appeared in several further novels.”

Author photoAuthor Bio:

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.