BLOG TOUR: Dead Smart by Stephen Puleston #InspectorMarco #DeadSmart #BookReview #CrimeFiction #BookReview @Inspector_Marco #PoliceProcedural #Bookstagram

Today it is my stop on the Blog Tour for DEAD SMART by Stephen Puleston. This is a prequel novella to the Inspector Marco series and is a gripping read.

Dead-Smart-cover.pngDead Smart: A prequel novella (Inspector John Marco Mysteries) 

Available from: Amazon

Nobody can hide from the truth …

Eddie Westford is found dead outside the Cardiff City Football ground. His throat has been cut in a cold-blooded attack. Inspector Marco discovers photographs of Westford sitting in various luxury cars and Westford’s connections with the organised hooligan gangs of Cardiff points to a connection with hardened criminals.
Evidence suggesting Westford is a suspect in a drug related inquiry means that Marco faces having to transfer the investigation to another officer. But Marco’s gut instinct believes that Westford’s death may be connected to some powerful people in Cardiff and he resists the attempts from his senior officer to have the murder case allocated to another officer.

Marco embarks on a final last minute attempt to prove his theory with disastrous consequences before he finally identifies Westford’s killer.


My Review

This is a prequel novella introduction to the Inspector Marco series.

A man is murdered with his throat cut and Marco is on the case except a link to drugs is found and he sees the case slipping out of his grasp.  Can he solve the case before he loses it?

This is a very complex story with a lot going on as we learn about the characters in tandem with the story developing.  A lot of twists and turns and red herrings keep the story moving along at a fast pace and the approaching deadline adds to the adrenaline rush as we all urge Marco on.  The ending is a real curve ball and one I definitely didn’t see coming.

This is a well written story.  The characters develop well through the book and there is minimal descriptive text so the fast pace is set and maintained from the very first page.

A brilliant introduction to what has the makings of a brilliant series I will definitely be reading future books.

I recommend this book to readers who like Police Procedural and Crime Fiction.



Stephen Puleston author photoAuthor Bio

I write crime fiction based in Wales and about Wales. The rural landscape of north Wales provides the backdrop to the Inspector Drake novels. And Cardiff the capital of Wales provides the setting for the Inspector Marco novels set in a modern urban environment.
I love the novels of Raymond Chandler, Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, Henning Mankell, Val McDermid – the list could go on! And I enjoy watching detective series on the television the recent Hinterland series based near Aberystwyth in Wales was great. One of my favourites is the French series Spiral but The Bridge and Broadchurch and the Rebus series with Ken Stott and Kenneth Branagh in Wallander are great too.
I have been on writing courses at the Welsh Writers Centre in Llanystymdwy, North Wales tutored by Matt Whyman and Marcus Sedgwick as well as crime writing courses with Peter Robinson and Andrew Taylor at the Scottish Writers centre.
I was born in Anglesey an island off the north Wales coast and after leaving school in Holyhead I went to University in London before training as a solicitor/lawyer. I practised in a small family business doing criminal work in the magistrates and crown courts, divorce and family work.
I still live on Anglesey, North Wales near the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia

Links

Website: www.stephenpuleston.co.uk/
Twitter:@Inspector_Marco
Facebook:www.facebook.com/stephenpulestoncrimewriter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.